Letter To Pen Pal: Week Two

Hi Gresa and Julia! How are you?

I definitely agree that people should become more aware of the person’s condition before they make judgments. As for your other questions, I loved your presentation! I got to meet new people just by a slide show! I do have siblings. I have two sisters. One is 14 and the other is one month today! For pets, I have a dog named Quincy. He is a Rottweiler Hound mix. I also have 14 fish and 2 lobsters but they are kind of boring. My hobby is riding and taking care of horses. I go out to a farm every week to spend time with a horse named Chiko. My favourite place in the entire world is Australia. I used to live there and I still have friends there that I talk to every day.

Something we worked on this week was responses to the movie Die Welle. We viewed the film and I really enjoyed it. Have you ever watched the movie? I was a little surprised when Ms. Waldner told us we were watching a film in German with English subtitles, but after I got used to reading the subtitles, I really enjoyed the movie. Afterwards, we wrote a blog post talking about our personal response to Die Welle. It was the blog post just before this one.

What are some of your hobbies? Do you guys have any brothers or sisters? What are you learning about right now? Do you guys have a blog that you can review your assignments and talk about them to an audience too?

 

Sincerely yours,

Brooke

2 thoughts on “Letter To Pen Pal: Week Two

  1. Lol Nicely written, Brooke. I’m learning things about I hadn’t known before, too!! I didn’t know you liked horses so much! I had horses umail grade 10 when I moved away. It’s a pretty special relationship someone can have, with a horse. You’re pretty lucky, I guess!!

  2. Hi Brooke, how are you?
    Our hobbies are baking, listening to music, drawing and singing.
    Gresa has one older brother and one older sister. Julia has one twin sister and one older brother.
    In English we were reading the story “A Days Wait” by Ernest Hemingway at the moment. Have you ever heard from it?
    It is about communication and misunderstandings: It’s about a boy that is sick, the doctor says he has a fever of one hundred and two degrees. His father tries to read to him, but the boy is not following and seems distant and detached. Hemingway describes one day in the boy’s life where in the end the reader finds out what it’s all about: the boy thinks he is dying because of the fever because he doesn’t know the difference between Fahrenheit and Celcius and the father doesn’t know about the boy’s struggles. Have you experienced such “cultural misunderstandings” yourself?
    Our opinion about the film “Die Welle” is that it`s frightening how fast an experiment is no longer controllable. It develops a community feeling and people who aren’t of the same opinion are excluded – also best friends. People are convicted or forced to do what the group wants if they don’t want to be outsiders. Even crime and violence isn’t stopped. We find it astonishing how fast “the wave” develops: a uniform which all members wear, a recognition mark…. What should be an experiment at first becomes something much larger. The students are divided into two groups…
    What did you discuss about the movie in class?

    Talk to you soon,
    Gresa and Julia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *