A1 CC: What would it be like?

As a white person in Canada, I feel as though I have many advantages such as education, little to no discrimination, no stereotypes, more career opportunities and are generally more wealthy. This unfortunately is just the society we live in. As an individual from a first nations background, they would have a more difficult time with both education and career opportunities. Typically, people from that background or origin are discriminated against often for previous events or actions of the culture. The quality of education can also act as an inequality in our society. Where I am now, I have teachers that actually enjoy teaching us and make sure that the education I am given is enough to get me where I want to go. Unfortunately, in other communities with more of a native population, are not given as high quality education just because of race. As for careers, a white male is more likely to hire more of a white group rather than other cultures. Affirmative action put in place by the government can reduce this discrimination against other cultures. For example, in the work environment, affirmative action makes sure that a certain amount of natives or people from other cultures are hired and are given as much of a chance as any other individual in our society. I believe that affirmative action is a good start towards equality within Canada.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *