Year End Grade 9 Portfolio Interview

Our final assessment for grade 9 ELA, we are going to reflect on our year by answering questions that were given to us. In total, I will answer 8 of the 11 questions.

  1. Prove or disprove, using supports/examples, that you have grown as a learner through the ELA 9 class activities.

Throughout grade 9 ELA, I feel that I’ve improved in my writing skills the most. If you look at my very first blog post, my writing does not have much detail. It would have been short, had little to no detail, and wouldn’t really have a voice. If you take one of my later posts, it would definitely improved in amount of detail, word choice and voice. Voice I think is an important aspect of blogging because you have to actually write for an audience and keep in mind that this audience is reading your work. Here are a few examples of my posts:

First PostGood Post

 

2. You have completed speaking, writing and visual representations in this ELA course. (Strongest 1)

a) Which of these come most easily to you? Why?

I feel that the one that came easily to me was the writing activities. I love to write and I think that’s why it comes easily to me. Sometimes I write in my spare time and I think that by doing this and writing in ELA strengthened my writing abilities throughout the year. My favourite writing activities was rewriting The Outsiders. I think I enjoyed it because I could create my own ending and take it where I wanted it to go.

b) Which of these do you struggle most with and what about it causes that? (Strongest 3)

The main one that I struggle with is the speaking aspect of ELA. I do not like speaking in front of the class probably because the thought of my peers watching me present is a scary thought. I’m sure it would be better if it was a room full of strangers because I don’t know them and they don’t know me at all. I am also a very, very quiet person. This is one thing that I can’t help and I always receive a 3 on the speaking aspect of the rubric because I don’t speak loud enough. This is nothing I can change and I think that is why I struggle so much. While presenting our inquiry projects, I spoke too quietly and people at the back couldn’t hear me very well but I seriously can’t help it.

 

4. Give an example of an assignment you are proud of and explain why.

 

I am most proud of the colour representation of The Majestic. I put a lot of effort into both my colour representation and the explanation of why I chose the colours I did. I am very proud of myself for putting that much energy into a project. This project was probably also my favourite one we’ve completed all year. We watched the movie The Majestic. Afterwards, we had to represent 21 scene’s mood with a colour and explain why we chose that colour. I really enjoyed this activity. Emotion Post

 

 

5. Formative feedback is the same as Summative except you get it before you submit the assignments. How did this help the quality and/or level of your work to get your feedback during the assignment instead of after? (Strongest 4)

I really feel that getting feedback during the assignment helped me a lot. If my mistakes are corrected before I finish, that way the quality of my work improves before I finish. If I get the feedback after the assignment is finished, I don’t have the chance to correct anything I need to correct and the quality of my work isn’t as good as it could be. This feedback helps me by making me look back on my work and think about some of the errors I may have. For feedback on some of our reflection question assignments, we used Grammarly. Grammarly really helped too. It gives me gentle feedback on things I could correct. For example, for our CR Responses for I am Sam, Grammarly identified all of my mistakes so that I could correct them.

 

IMG_2321

 

6. Did you reach or test your potential for ELA 9? (Strongest 6)

I honestly feel that I could have done better in ELA 9. I think that I improved throughout the year, but I still could have done better than I did. Especially when we rewrote the endings to stories and movies. I think that I could have added way more detail and changed the ending of The Outsiders completely but I didn’t stray very far from the story plot. I only changed things here and there. Next year I really am going to try to remember my goal to do better in ELA A10 and B10 and try harder to succeed in reaching this goal.

Outsiders ending

 

9. You developed your blog this year, adding samples of a lot of your work. In doing so, you’ve tweaked it to include a fair representation of your personality online. What skills do you think you’ve developed through using the blog? (Strongest 5)

Through using the blog, I think that I have developed many different blogging skills such as voice, writing and being able to speak to an audience. Developing voice comes with blogging. When talking to an audience, you need to develop a voice so that your content isn’t so boring. I also think by continuing to write on the blog have improved my writing quite a bit. Being able to speak to an audience doesn’t hurt either. It makes you think about your responses, intros, etc. It also makes you think about your writing in general. You have to make it interesting to read so people don’t become bored.

 

10. Staying organized can make all the difference in being on top of your work. What strategies, if any, do you use to stay aware of current deadlines and work?

 

This year, I would usually set a reminder in my iPad so I don’t forget about homework or deadlines. Either that or I get my peers to remind me if I forget to remind myself. This method works for me because I check my iPad regularly during the school day so even if the reminder goes off when I don’t see it, it is still there and I can still remember my homework.

 

11. What is your learning goal for next year to achieve more success and developed skills in ELA?

 

I really think that my writing could be improved next year and that’s what I would like work on next year as well. I could definitely be more detailed in every writing assignment this year and use better choice. I admit my word choice is weak and needs to be improved.

 

These are my reflection questions for my year end project.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *